Databases - BIOL 4260 - Principles of Evolution - UNT Dallas Library at UNT Dallas

Muti-database Search

Multi-Database Search Engines Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central

Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central are multi-database search engines. These search engines search the majority of the library's databases at once.

Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).

Electronic Resources A-Z Database Links

Access links to all the UNT Dallas Library electronic resources (databases).

Subject-Specific Databases

Subject-specific databases search publications from a specific discipline. The databases that follow provide access to articles, reports, literature reviews, and peer-reviewed research studies from the discipline of science and biology.

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on applied and general sciences. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text international titles including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that covers aspects of sustainability, including environmental stewardship, corporate social responsibility and federal, state and local regulations.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.

Other Databases to Consider

After searching the above databases you may also consider searching the following that includes cross-disciplinary information related to science and biology.

Nexis Uni provides access to a broad selection of news sources that can be used to keep informed with science-related news and trends.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music. Users can access full-text content beginning with the first volume of some journals although recent volumes may or may not be included. Content ranges from 1890 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal information.

Background Information and Literature Reviews

The following databases provide background information that may be useful when beginning the research process.

Annual reviews publish literature reviews that synthesize research and places it in a historical context. The reviews also address areas and questions that need further exploration. Students will receive information to inform their research and understanding of the topics covered.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides reviews of primary research literature. Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, in over 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

BIOL 4260 - Principles of Evolution

Muti-database Search

Subject-Specific Databases

Other Databases to Consider

Background Information and Literature Reviews

Contact Us:

Social Media:

Visit Us: