Databases help you find both scholarly and popular articles
Find links to the library databases through the Electronic Resource page
Scholarly and popular articles are two types of sources that you may encounter in your research. Scholarly articles are written by researchers, scholars, and experts in a specific field. They report their original research findings, methods, and analysis to other professionals and students in the same field. Scholarly articles are also called peer-reviewed articles, because they have been evaluated by other experts before they are published in scholarly journals.
Popular articles, on the other hand, are written by journalists, writers, or editors for a general audience. They cover topics of general interest and often reflect current events, trends, or opinions. Popular articles are usually published in magazines and newspapers, which do not require peer-review or rigorous standards of quality.
Scholarly and popular articles have different purposes, audiences, and formats. Popular articles can be a good source for background information used to provide context, formulate your ideas, or provide keywords, key figures, or events.
If you are looking for newspapers, magazines, or academic journal articles, you might want to begin your search with a multi-database search engine. These databases allows you to search several databases at the same time, with just one click. This can save time and effort, and also helps you find more sources that are relevant to their topic. A multi-database search engine can also help you discover sources from different disciplines or fields that are related to their topic, which you might not find when searching a subject specific database.
Begin your search by using Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central
For more information about searching Ebsco EDS please view the following demonstration video Searching new EBSCO EDS User Interface or go to Database Tutorials for Ebsco EDS or ProQuest Central
The following databases are subject specific databases related to Criminal Justice. Subject specific databases focus on newspaper, magazines, and journals that publish articles on Criminal Justice or closely related information. Unlike multi-database search engines that returns a large number of cross-disciplinary search results, subject specific database return far fewer results but those results are more focused on the Criminal Justice.
Gale OneFile Criminal Justice: Subject-specific database providing coverage of journals in the field of Law, law enforcement, and terrorism. Additional topics covered include training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, preparing for court appearances, writing sociological reports, and much more.
You may also consider searching the following databases that cover subjects that may be relevant to Criminal Justice such as Psychology or Law.
PsycINFO:The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
PsycARTICLES: Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
2. Your Tipasa account will open to the request page. Fileds related to the request will be filled out. Review and update any informaiton then scroll down to the bottom of the page.
3. Review the About my Request section. Provide a Need by date.
Need By Date
Copyright Acknowledgement
Click Submit Request
7350 University Hills Blvd, 3rd Floor,
Dallas, Texas 75241
Ph: 972-338-1616 | E-mail: Library@untdallas.edu
© Copyright 2024, UNT Dallas. All rights reserved.
Hours: Mon.-Thur.: 8:00-8:00 | Fri -Sat: 8:00-5:00 |
Sun: 12:00-5:00
Directions & Maps to the Library | Privacy Statement
