UNT Dallas Library: ENGL 1323: Computer Assisted College Writing II: Databases

Electronic Resources A-Z Databases Links

Access links to all the UNT Dallas Library electronic resources (databases).

Background Information and Literature Reviews

The following databases provide background information that may be useful when beginning the research process.

Annual Reviews publishes literature reviews that synthesize research and places it in a historical context. The reviews also address areas and questions that need further exploration. Students will receive information to inform their research and understanding of the topics covered.

Credo Reference allows you to search for background information from authoritative academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides reviews of primary research literature. Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, in over 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

Muti-database Search

Multi-Database Search Engines Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central

Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central are multi-database search engines. These search engines search the majority of the library's databases at once. These databases will provide a range of information from cross-disciplinary sources which makes these databases an ideal place to start your research.

Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).

Subject-Specific Databases

After searching the multi-database search engines then consider searching a subject-specific database for information from a particular subject area.

Subject-specific databases search publications from a specific discipline. The databases that follow provide access to articles, reports, literature reviews, and peer-reviewed research studies from a range of academic disciplines.

Biology

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window

Business

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window

Communication Studies

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window

Chemistry

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window

Education

ERIC via Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window

Law & Legal Information

Heinonline This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window

Political Science

Political Science Database This link opens in a new window

Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window

Sociology

Sociology Database This link opens in a new window

Inter-Disciplinary Databases to Consider

After searching the above databases you may also consider searching the following that includes cross-disciplinary information.

Academic Search Complete provides information from a broad set of interdisciplinary academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.

JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music.

Nexis Uni provides access to a broad selection of news sources that can be used to keep informed with current events and trends. Nexis Uni also provides business and legal information.