UNT Dallas Library: History: Databases

How to Find Primary Sources in EBSCO & ProQuest Databases

You can locate primary sources using the Advanced Search option in several EBSCO and ProQuest databases. Here is how some of those options appear:

Databases with Primary Source Documents

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music. Users can access full-text content beginning with the first volume of some journals although recent volumes may or may not be included. Content ranges from 1890 to the present.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
Master File Complete This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Portal to Texas History This link opens in a new window
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Provides popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration.

Other Databases

Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press is an electronic publisher specializing in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Interdisciplinary content across a broad spectrum of academic subjects.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Full-text database on topics from international and regional newspapers that explores current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.

History

How to Find Primary Sources in EBSCO & ProQuest Databases

Databases with Primary Source Documents

Other Databases

Contact Us:

Social Media:

Visit Us: