UNT Dallas Library: HSML 3100: Professional Interpersonal Communication Skills: Databases

How to Find Articles

Databases help you find both scholarly and popular articles
Find links to the library databases through the Electronic Resource page

Scholarly Articles and Popular Articles

Scholarly articles are published in scholarly journals and allow the authors to report their research findings to others researchers, scholars, and students. Scholarly articles are also called Peer-Reviewed because field-specific experts reviewed the articles before publication.
Popular articles are often published in magazines and newspapers and are intended for a general audience. The contents of the articles are of general interest and often cover current events.

Where to Start Searching

Start by searching a multi-database search engine such as Ebsco EDS or ProQuest Central
- Multi-database search engines allow you to:
  - Search more than one database at once
  - Find related information from several different fields
- See the Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central Quick Guide or Database tutorial for more information

Where to Search Next

Continue your search with subject-specific databases related to communication
- Field Specific databases search articles published within a single field
- You will receive fewer results but they will be more relevant to your subject
Try searching the following databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
is a communication studies database that covers related disciplines including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse. The CMMC features nearly 430 full-text journals, cover-to-cover indexing, and abstracts for 670 journals, selected coverage of nearly 200 journals, more than 5,500 author profiles. In addition, CMMC contains a sophisticated communication thesaurus for comprehensive reference browsing.
Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage to social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Access the UNT Dallas Library electronic resources.

Other Databases to Consider

After searching the above databases you may also consider searching the following databases that include cross-disciplinary information related to communication studies.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
PsycARTICLES (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

UNT Dallas Library Databases A-Z List
A list of all the databases provided by the UNT Dallas Library.

Background Information

The following databases provide background information that may be useful when beginning the research process.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides reviews of primary research literature. Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, in over 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

HSML 3100: Professional Interpersonal Communication Skills

How to Find Articles

How to Find Articles

Databases help you find both scholarly and popular articles

Find links to the library databases through the Electronic Resource page

Scholarly Articles and Popular Articles

Scholarly articles are published in scholarly journals and allow the authors to report their research findings to others researchers, scholars, and students. Scholarly articles are also called Peer-Reviewed because field-specific experts reviewed the articles before publication.

Popular articles are often published in magazines and newspapers and are intended for a general audience. The contents of the articles are of general interest and often cover current events.

Where to Start Searching

Start by searching a multi-database search engine such as Ebsco EDS or ProQuest Central

Multi-database search engines allow you to:

Search more than one database at once

Find related information from several different fields

See the Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central Quick Guide or Database tutorial for more information

Where to Search Next

Continue your search with subject-specific databases related to communication

Field Specific databases search articles published within a single field

You will receive fewer results but they will be more relevant to your subject

Other Databases to Consider

Background Information

Contact Us:

Social Media:

Visit Us: