UNT Dallas Library: SOCI 3000: Sociology of Marriage and Family: Databases

Muti-database Search

Databases are primarily used to find articles. Many types of articles are accessible through databases such as popular (magazine or newspaper) or scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles. It is often best to start a search using a multi-database search engine because it will provide the broadest assortment of results and those results will come from cross-disciplinary sources.

Begin your search using the following databases:

Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).

Access all the UNT Dallas Library electronic resources.

Subject Specific Databases

Subject specific databases such as communication studies databases provide information about and access to publications related to the field of sociology. These databases will return fewer results but the results will be more focused on education since those are the only journals searched by the database. Subject specific databases also provide subject specific thesauri which are collections of subject terms used to organize articles within the database. Subject specific databases also include advanced search options designed for educational researchers to find information.

Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

Other Databases to Consider

After searching the above databases you may also consider searching the following databases that include cross-disciplinary information related to communication studies.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music. Users can access full-text content beginning with the first volume of some journals although recent volumes may or may not be included. Content ranges from 1890 to the present.
PsycARTICLES (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.

UNT Dallas Library Databases A-Z List
A list of all the databases provided by the UNT Dallas Library.

Background Information

The following databases provide background information that may be useful when beginning the research process.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world.

SOCI 3000: Sociology of Marriage and Family

Muti-database Search

Subject Specific Databases

Other Databases to Consider

Background Information

Contact Us:

Social Media:

Visit Us: