UNT Dallas Library: SPAN 4340: Databases

Muti-database Search

Databases are primarily used to find articles. Many types of articles are accessible through databases such as popular (magazine or newspaper) or scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles. It is often best to start a search using a multi-database search engine because it will provide the broadest assortment of results and those results will come from cross-disciplinary sources.

Begin your search using the following databases:

Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).

Access the UNT Dallas Library electronic resources.

Subject Specific Databases

Subject specific databases such as provide more detailed and focused information because they allow users to search a smaller set of publications related to a specific field (i.e. PsycINFO covers psychology; Business Source Complete covers business related information). Because Human Services is an interdisciplinary field of study it may be necessary to search several subject specific databases to find relevant information.

Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive full-text coverage of Spanish-language scholarly content from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain is designed to make academic research readily available in PDF format.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Heinonline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 173 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.

Other Databases to Consider

After searching the above databases you may also consider searching the following databases.

PsycARTICLES (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

UNT Dallas Library Databases A-Z List
A list of all the databases provided by the UNT Dallas Library.

Background Information

The following databases provide background information that may be useful when beginning the research process.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides reviews of primary research literature. Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, in over 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

SPAN 4340

Muti-database Search

Subject Specific Databases

Other Databases to Consider

Background Information

Contact Us:

Social Media:

Visit Us: