UNT Dallas Library: Biology: Databases

Best Bet Databases for Biology

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
EBook Central This link opens in a new window
eBook collection providing authoritative content specializing in works in the fields of Science and Biology, Social Sciences, and Humanities. The resource also includes a large collection of Spanish eBooks.
Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly journals covering an array of science subjects, including chemistry, biology, computer technology and physics.

Other Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive streaming video database that provides over 68,000 video titles covering subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides reviews of primary research literature. Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, in over 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more the database provides full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Computer Source provides a balance of full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that indexes high quality, peer reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access academic journals that use an appropriate quality control system and is not limited to particular languages, geographical region, or subject areas. The Directory aims to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access academic journals -regardless of size and country of origin - thereby promoting their visibility, usage and impact.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text international titles including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ERIC via Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, and health administration. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music. Users can access full-text content beginning with the first volume of some journals although recent volumes may or may not be included. Content ranges from 1890 to the present.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
Master File Complete This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps, and flags.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
Medical research and scientific journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers, MedicLatina contains a complete table of contents and PDF full text for peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians, and researchers.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Provides popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high-quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With nearly 300 full-text journals.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
STEM Database This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 500 scholarly journals and popular science magazines. These publications support research and instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math. All coverage is front-to-back full-text, with images and graphics reproduced exactly as they appear in the original editions. ProQuest's STEM database offers something for students and educators at multiple grade levels.
Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that covers aspects of sustainability, including environmental stewardship, corporate social responsibility and federal, state and local regulations.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals for high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public.

Biology

Best Bet Databases for Biology

Other Databases

Contact Us:

Social Media:

Visit Us: