UNT Dallas Library: LGBTQIA+ Studies: Databases

Subject Databases

Many disciplines include in depth LGBTQIA+ scholarly research articles within the context of the subject area. Utilize the database keyword & subject searches to find articles on LGBTQIA+ themes.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive streaming video database that provides over 68,000 video titles covering subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ERIC via Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
Heinonline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 173 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music. Users can access full-text content beginning with the first volume of some journals although recent volumes may or may not be included. Content ranges from 1890 to the present.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Stream Classic Cinema, Indie Film, and Documentaries.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians, and researchers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).
PsycARTICLES (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net allows users to watch master therapists conducting psychotherapy sessions. The database offers a library of over 300 training videos featuring the leading practitioners in the field. Also included are articles, interviews, blogs, and cartoons related to the psychotherapy field.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage to social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

Kewords

When searching for articles or books in our databases, the best research method is using KEYWORDS.

When conducting research on any social group you must consider the range of labels we use to identify ourselves/them. Possible terms include homosexual, lesbian, gay, bisexual, asexual, queer, LGBT, transgender, and same sex. Because LGBT studies is cross-disciplinary is nature, be sure to take into account such subjects as history, religion, psychology, sociology, philosophy, anthropology, law, and the arts when you are performing your searches.

Related Database Research Guides

HeinOnline - LGBTQ+ Rights
LGBTQ+ Rights charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.

LGBTQIA+ Studies: Databases

Subject Databases

Kewords

Related Database Research Guides

Contact Us:

Social Media:

Visit Us: