UNT Dallas Library: McNair Scholars: Databases

Background Information

The following databases provide background information that may be useful when beginning the research process.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides reviews of primary research literature. Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, in over 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

Muti-database Search

Databases are primarily used to find articles. Many types of articles are accessible through databases such as popular (magazine or newspaper) or scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles. It is often best to start a search using a multi-database search engine because it will provide the broadest assortment of results and those results will come from cross-disciplinary sources.

Begin your search using the following databases:

Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).

Access the UNT Dallas Library electronic resources.

Subject Specific Databases

Subject specific databases such as communication studies databases provide information about and access to publications related to the field of education. These databases will return fewer results but the results will be more focused on education since those are the only journals searched by the database. Subject specific databases also provide subject specific thesauri which are collections of subject terms used to organize articles within the database. Subject specific databases also include advanced search options designed for educational researchers to find information.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
is a communication studies database that covers related disciplines including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse. The CMMC features nearly 430 full-text journals, cover-to-cover indexing, and abstracts for 670 journals, selected coverage of nearly 200 journals, more than 5,500 author profiles. In addition, CMMC contains a sophisticated communication thesaurus for comprehensive reference browsing.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
ERIC via Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
Heinonline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 173 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
A full-text database supported by a specialized abstract and index file.

The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the core literature in the field of public health. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage to social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

Other Databases to Consider

After searching the above databases you may also consider searching the following databases that include cross-disciplinary information related to communication studies.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music. Users can access full-text content beginning with the first volume of some journals although recent volumes may or may not be included. Content ranges from 1890 to the present.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal information.
PsycARTICLES (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

UNT Dallas Library Databases A-Z List
A list of all the databases provided by the UNT Dallas Library.

McNair Scholars

Background Information

Muti-database Search

Subject Specific Databases

Other Databases to Consider

Contact Us:

Social Media:

Visit Us: