UNT Dallas Library: COMM 1307 Introduction to Mass Communication: Databases

Muti-database Search

Multi-Database Search Engines Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central

Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central are multi-database search engines. These search engines search the majority of the library's databases at once.

Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).

Electronic Resources A-Z Database Links

Access links to all the UNT Dallas Library electronic resources (databases).

Subject-Specific Databases

Subject-specific databases search publications from a specific discipline. The Communication and Mass Media Index provides access to articles, reports, literature reviews, and peer-reviewed research studies from the discipline of communication studies.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
is a communication studies database that covers related disciplines including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse. The CMMC features nearly 430 full-text journals, cover-to-cover indexing, and abstracts for 670 journals, selected coverage of nearly 200 journals, more than 5,500 author profiles. In addition, CMMC contains a sophisticated communication thesaurus for comprehensive reference browsing.

Other Databases to Consider

After searching the above database you may also consider searching the following that includes cross-disciplinary information related to communication studies.

Nexis Uni provides access to a broad selection of news sources that can be used to keep informed with science-related news and trends.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music. Users can access full-text content beginning with the first volume of some journals although recent volumes may or may not be included. Content ranges from 1890 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal information.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage to social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Also a part of ProQuest Central.
Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals and information concerning the Telecommunications industry and technology. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

Background Information and Literature Reviews

The following databases provide background information that may be useful when beginning the research process.

Annual reviews publish literature reviews that synthesize research and places it in a historical context. The reviews also address areas and questions that need further exploration. Students will receive information to inform their research and understanding of the topics covered.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides reviews of primary research literature. Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, in over 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

COMM 1307 Introduction to Mass Communication

Muti-database Search

Subject-Specific Databases

Other Databases to Consider

Background Information and Literature Reviews

Contact Us:

Social Media:

Visit Us: