UNT Dallas Library: ENGL 1313: Computer Assisted College Writing I: Databases

Electronic Resources A-Z Databases Links

Access links to all the UNT Dallas Library electronic resources (databases).

Background Information and Literature Reviews

The following databases provide background information that may be useful when beginning the research process.

Annual Reviews publishes literature reviews that synthesize research and places it in a historical context. The reviews also address areas and questions that need further exploration. Students will receive information to inform their research and understanding of the topics covered.

The U.S. Major Daily's and the International News Stream provides access to the world's leading newspapers such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal (U.S. Major Daily's) and the Times London, El Norte, Financial Times, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications. Newspaper articles can help you to stay up-to-date on the latest news and information on your topic or field while also helpling you keep track of new developments and trends. By reading about current events, you can get a sense of what is being studied and what questions remain unanswered. This can help you come up with your own research ideas.

The U.S. Major Dailies and International News Stream provide access to the world's leading newspapers, such as the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal (U.S. Major Dailies), the Times of London, El Norte, the Financial Times, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications (International News Stream). Newspaper articles can help you stay up-to-date on the latest news and information in your field, as well as keep track of new developments and trends. By reading about current events, you can get a sense of what is being studied and what questions remain unanswered. This can help you come up with your own research ideas.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides reviews of primary research literature. Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, in over 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides recent news content outside of the US and Canada from newspapers, newswires, and news sites. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

Muti-database Search

Multi-Database Search Engines Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central

Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central are multi-database search engines. These search engines search the majority of the library's databases at once. These databases will provide a range of information from cross-disciplinary sources which makes these databases an ideal place to start your research.

Ebsco EDS This link opens in a new window
Ebsco EDS provides users with a streamlined search of multiple databases through a single search box.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Periodical resource that includes major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world (Access: Wall Street Journal and New York Times).

Subject-Specific Databases

After searching the multi-database search engines then consider searching a subject-specific database for information from a particular subject area.

Subject-specific databases search publications from a specific discipline. The databases that follow provide access to articles, reports, literature reviews, and peer-reviewed research studies from a range of academic disciplines.

Biology

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

Business

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more the database provides full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal information.

Communication Studies

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
is a communication studies database that covers related disciplines including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse. The CMMC features nearly 430 full-text journals, cover-to-cover indexing, and abstracts for 670 journals, selected coverage of nearly 200 journals, more than 5,500 author profiles. In addition, CMMC contains a sophisticated communication thesaurus for comprehensive reference browsing.

Chemistry

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications provides access to peer-reviewed journals and magazines published by ACS. This database covers all areas of chemistry and related sciences.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

Education

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Providing access to academic peer-reviewed journals, 550 ebooks and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
ERIC via Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high-quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world.

Law & Legal Information

Heinonline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 173 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal information.

Political Science

Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
PsycARTICLES (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.

Sociology

Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. Also a part of ProQuest Central.

Inter-Disciplinary Databases to Consider

After searching the above databases you may also consider searching the following that includes cross-disciplinary information.

Academic Search Complete provides information from a broad set of interdisciplinary academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.

JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music.

Nexis Uni provides access to a broad selection of news sources that can be used to keep informed with current events and trends. Nexis Uni also provides business and legal information.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information from academic peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology, botany, and music. Users can access full-text content beginning with the first volume of some journals although recent volumes may or may not be included. Content ranges from 1890 to the present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal information.