HSML 1300: Intro to the Helping Profession

How to Find Articles

• Databases help you find both scholarly peer-reviewed research studies and popular articles (newspapers and magazines)

• Find links to the library databases through the Electronic Resource page 

Scholarly Articles and Popular Articles

• Scholarly articles are published in scholarly journals and allow the authors to report their research findings to others researchers, scholars, and students. Scholarly articles are also called Peer-Reviewed because field-specific experts reviewed the articles before publication.

  • Most peer-Reviewed research studies include the following sections:

    • Introduction: 
      • Literature Review: A selective review of existing research on the topic that influenced the author's work. 
      • Research Questions: Clear and concise statements that outline the specific questions the study aims to answer.
    • Methodology:
      • Research Design: The overall plan or strategy used to conduct the study. This includes the type of research (e.g., experimental, correlational, qualitative), sampling methods, and data collection procedures.
      • Participants: A description of the individuals or groups involved in the study, including their characteristics (e.g., age, gender, ethnicity) and how they were selected.
      • Instruments: The tools or methods used to collect data, such as surveys, interviews, observations, or experiments.
      • Procedures: A step-by-step account of the data collection process, including the timeline and any specific protocols or guidelines followed.
      • Data Analysis: The techniques used to analyze the collected data, such as statistical tests or qualitative coding methods.
    • Results:
      • Findings: A presentation of the key findings from the data analysis, often supported by tables, figures, or graphs. 
    • Discussion:
      • Interpretation: A discussion of the meaning and implications of the findings, relating them back to the research questions and the existing literature.
      • Limitations: A recognition of any potential weaknesses or shortcomings in the study, such as limitations in sample size, research design, or data analysis methods.
      • Future Research: Suggestions for further research based on the findings of the study, addressing any unanswered questions or limitations.
    • References
      • Citations: An alphabetical (by lead author's last name) list of all the sources cited in the study, formatted according to a specific style guide (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago). This includes books, articles, journals, websites, and any other cited published works cited in the study.

• Popular articles are often published in magazines and newspapers and are intended for a general audience. The contents of the articles are of general interest and often cover current events. 

Search for Background Information

• Encyclopedia's, Guides, and Subject Specific Dictionaries

  • Before starting your search you will need to know information about your topic. The best places to look are academic encyclopedias, subject guides, or subject-specific dictionaries. 

  • Ebook Central provides several encyclopedias, subject guides, and subject specific dictionaries. 

    • Dictionary of Social Work: the Definitive a to Z of Social Work and Social Care

    • Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
    • Moving Beyond Assessment: A Practical Guide for Beginning Helping Professionals

• Ebsco EDS Research Starters

  • Research Starters can be found by searching Ebsco EDS. Just enter a search topic like "global warming" and if there is a research starter on the topic it will appear at the top of the results list page. 

    • When researching your topic, record key concepts, legislation, books, theories, and theorists. This information will help refine your database searches.
    • Literature reviews are articles written by field specific experts that offers valuable background information and identify significant studies. Search for literature reviews by including the keyword "review" in your database searches.
      • For example enter the following in the search field to discover relevant literature review:
        • "infant parental relationship" AND review 
    • Annual Reviews is another excellent resource for systematic reviews across various fields. However, UNT Dallas may not subscribe to all Annual Review journals. If needed, submit an interlibrary loan request for unavailable reviews.

Where to Start Searching

• Start by searching a multi-database search engine such as Ebsco EDS or ProQuest Central

  • Multi-database search engines allow you to:

    • Search more than one database at once

    • Find related information from several different fields

  • See Database tutorials for Ebsco EDS and ProQuest Central tutorial videos.

Where to Search Next

• Continue your search with subject-specific databases related to your topic area. 

  • Field Specific databases search articles published within a single field

  • You will receive fewer results but they will be more relevant to your subject

• Try searching the following databases

• PsycINFO: A key database that provides a comprehensive index of interdisciplinary bibliographic records that allows for targeted discovery across the full spectrum of behavioral and social sciences.

• PsycARTICLES: Provides access to the full text of over 119 research journals published by the American Psychological Association.

• Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine 

• JSTOR: Provides deep archives of many key journals back to the first issue. Please note that JSTOR does not have access to the most recent journal volumes. 

• Nursing & Allied Health Database

• Consumer Health Database

• Sociology Database

Going Further to Find the Best Research on Your Topic 

• Scopus is a comprehensive research database that allows users to find and track research 
  • Discover related research: Find articles that have cited a specific source, revealing connections and potential areas of interest.
  • Track research impact: Measure the influence of a particular study by analyzing the number and quality of citations it receives.
  • Identify emerging trends: Discover new research directions by examining the topics and methodologies used in citing articles.

Access the UNT Dallas Library electronic resources.

How to Request Articles, Book Chapters, and Books through the Tipasa Interlibrary Loan and Ebsco EDS

Often when searching the library databases (such as Ebsco EDS or ProQuest Central) you will find items such as articles that are not available as full-text links. You may request access to articles, book chapters, or books by submitting a Tipasa Interlibrary loan request. Interlibrary loan links will appear in the search results or you may submit interlibrary loan requests directly through your Tipasa account.  

1. From the database search results page click on the Request through interlibrary loan link.

2. Your Tipasa account will open to the request page. Fileds related to the request will be filled out. Review and update any informaiton then scroll down to the bottom of the page.

3. Review the About my Request section. Provide a Need by date.

Need By Date

• Please note that an article and book chapter will be delivered electronically. Please enter a 1-2 week need-by date.
• Book requests will be fulfilled through a physical book. Please provide 2-3 week need by date. 
• Requests will expire after the need-by date passes and Tipasa will no longer work to acquire the item requested.
• You may resubmit the request or contact the interlibrary department for further information. 

Copyright Acknowledgement

• Review the Copyright Acknowledgement
• Check the box to acknowledge the statement

Click Submit Request