UNT Dallas Library: HSML 1300: Intro to the Helping Profession: Books

Books

The UNT Dallas Library Catalog

The catalog allows you to search for physical books and media items held by the UNT Dallas Library.

You will need to present your student id card in order to check out a book.

More information on borrowing books from the library can be found here.

The following books can be borrowed at the UNT Dallas Library.

Ethics and values in social work : an integrated approach for a comprehensive curriculum / Allan Edward Barsky.

In a unique and student-friendly package, Ethics and Values in Social Work offers a series of learning modules that will ensure graduates receive a comprehensive ethics and values education. Designed to be easily incorporated into any curriculum, each module helps students integrate the knowledge, skills, self-awareness, and critical thinking abilities required for dealing with ethical issues. From applying basic ethical standards of practice to managing complex ethical dilemmas, this textbook equips readers with a range of tools and strategies for responding to ethical questions and concerns.

The Social Work Dictionary (4th edition)

The dictionary offers comprehensive definitions and information related to social work and human services. It includes over 5,000 terms,

Modern Social Work Theory / Malcolm Payne

An examination of social work in both theory and practice.

Learning Group Leadership / Matt Englar-Carlson; Jeffrey A. Kottler

Learning Group Leadership: An Experiential Approach is a comprehensive guide that equips readers with the necessary knowledge and skills for effective group leadership. Through its experiential approach, the book encourages readers to apply theoretical concepts to real-world scenarios. In the fourth edition, readers explore the foundational aspects of group work, including group dynamics, multicultural considerations, and key intervention approaches. Additionally, the book delves into essential leadership skills, such as group assessment, specialized leadership techniques, and effective interventions, as well as addressing critical leadership challenges like co-leadership, ethical dilemmas, and handling difficult group members.

Working in America : continuity, conflict, and change in a new economic era / Amy S. Wharton

This textbook in the sociology of work offers a fresh perspectives for students while retaining classic works. This comprehensive resource provides students with a deeper understanding of contemporary labor trends and their implications for individuals and society.

American Social Welfare Policy / Howard Karger; David Stoesz

American Social Welfare Policy, Eighth Edition, provides students with a comprehensive understanding of domestic and international social welfare policies. Using a policy analysis framework, the authors explore the social, political, and economic factors that shape these policies. The text covers major U.S. welfare programs and fundamental social welfare concepts.

Ebooks

The following books can be borrowed by clicking the title links.

The Craft of Scientific Communication
Human services management : Organizational leadership in social work practice
Human services management occurs in nonprofit, governmental, and for-profit sectors and involves a wide variety of organizational structures. These diverse conditions shape the effort to produce and project services that directly affect the quality of life of individuals, families, and communities through social welfare, health and mental health, criminal justice, and educational services. David Austin begins with an examination of the historical development and distinctive characteristics of human service organizations, the variety of organizational and program structures at play, and the connection of individual service organizations with service delivery networks. He then examines of the roles and responsibilities of key stakeholder constituencies, including service users, service personnel (especially service professionals), funders, executives, and policy boards. The final two chapters discuss two organizational processes: accountability for effectiveness and dealing with organizational changes.
Social Work in Context: Theory and Concepts
This book examines key sociological theories that have contributed to the understanding of the nature of social work, its organisation and delivery. It provides key sociological concepts and theories to help student social workers better understand the nature of their work and the social and political context within which they will be working.
Critical Thinking for Helping Professionals : A Skills-Based Workbook
Critical Thinking for Helping Professionals is a practical workbook that equips students with essential critical thinking skills. Through engaging exercises, it fosters decision-making abilities, promotes evidence-based practice, and helps students navigate propaganda and research evaluation. Ideal for social work, nursing, counseling, and psychology students, this resource enhances their ability to provide high-quality care.
Social Work Fields of Practice : Historical Trends, Professional Issues, and Future Opportunities
A contemporary look at social work practice and the many career possibilitieswith detailed coverage of important new and emerging trends
The Service User as a Partner in Social Work Projects and Education
To become a competent social worker it is essential to know the perspective of the service users. Therefore, service users are more and more included in field research projects and the instruction of social workers to-be. However, they are usually reduced to the role of informants and not actively taking part as co-partners. For the first time, this anthology gives an overview of courses in which service users and students share their experiences and work together on the same level using gapmending methods. The applications and evaluations of these courses in different European countries are discussed in this volume.
URI
For the Common Good
For the Common Good is an anthology of selected essays by Dr. Harold Lewis, one of the intellectual leaders of the social work profession. Social work literature often reflects powerful ahistorical tendencies which, in recent years, have produced analyses of social issues that lack awareness of both the contemporary environment and the historical forces that shaped it. Lewis' insights into the nature and purpose of social work help fill some of these historical and conceptual gaps, and present a clearer picture of social work's true place in our society.

EBook Central This link opens in a new window
eBook collection providing authoritative content specializing in works in the fields of Science and Biology, Social Sciences, and Humanities. The resource also includes a large collection of Spanish eBooks.
Ebooks on Ebscohost This link opens in a new window

hhhh

TexShare Card and WorldCat.org

UNT Dallas Library users may acquire a TexShare from the library. TexShare cards allow users to borrow library materials from participating library throughout the state of Texas.

Cards are issued during normal library operating hours at the library service desk located on the 3rd floor of the Student Center.

WorldCat

Users may search library holdings by using the WorldCat.org database.

Go to https://worldcat.org/

Enter keywords or title in the search field and then click the magnifying glass icon.

From the results page scroll down until you find the item you are searching for. Click on the item's title to view the item's detailed page.

Click on the dropdown menu located on the upper right side of the page. A zip code box will appear.

Enter a zip code and click the Update Location button to view a sorted list of the nearest libraries that may hold the item search for.

Scroll down the list of libraries.

Dallas Public Library and UNT Dallas Student ID Cards

All UNT Dallas students, faculty, and staff may borrow books from the Dallas Public Library with their UNT Dallas identification card.

HSML 1300: Intro to the Helping Profession